StorkNet.com Home Page A StorkNet Family Network Site

Hannah's Pregnancy Journal

Introduction
~ Meet Hannah

My name is Hannah, and I'm 28 years old. I work as a technical writer, which means I write manuals for software products. I don't write anything you would read, though, unless you are a network engineer. I am a huge extrovert and I love people, so this job doesn't always fit my personality. I crave excitement and fun, but I also am a sucker for security and I like learning and researching, so in that way it fits my personality. I would really like to change out of this job into something that works with people. But I've spent the last two years in this job trying to figure out what else I would or could do.

I have a Bachelor's and Master's degree from Purdue University in Communication. Two of the best jobs I ever had were working in a mental hospital and teaching, so I've been thinking about trying to go back to one of those in some way. The problem with working at a mental hospital is it results in a pay cut, even if I went back to school to be a social worker. The problem with teaching is that there are very few jobs available, although I don't think I'll let that stop me from trying! Of course, I have to wait until after maternity leave to start looking for a new job.

I was married to my husband, Aaron on May 15, 2004. Aaron works at the same company as me in Sales Operations. I was always a strong, independent woman who swore up and down I wouldn't get married until I was 30 and wouldn't have babies for many years later, but I met Aaron at just the right time and then decided in January of this year that I can have it all--children, family, job, fun, and excitement, and I don't need to let anything stop me. I felt I was at the right age to have kids and I was getting bored with it just being us two. I mean, it's fun, but we were living such selfish lives, working and then coming home to do what we wanted--buying everything we wanted. It was time for a change--something fun and exciting to come into our lives!

My other interests and hobbies include a deep love of DIY and fashion. I am a firm believer in trying to make things myself before I buy them. This includes everything from mascarpone cheese to maternity clothes. I love anything that allows me to make or do something on my own, including sewing, cooking, knitting (I am REALLY into knitting!), gardening, etc. I'm going to be your total DIY mom, making baby sheets, clothes, blankets, socks, diaper covers, and baby food.

As for fashion, I admit it's gone off the deep end lately, but I still really enjoy clothes and shopping. I maintain a fashion/DIY blog at www.mskirko.blogspot.com that has been somewhat neglected since I got pregnant, although I'm trying to get into it again. I'm currently taking a fashion design class in draping at a local community college and I'm the president of a BurdaStyle sewing club in my area. That on top of working, knitting and sewing baby stuff, and trying to socialize with my friends keeps me busy!
~ Hannah

Week 19 | Hannah's Home Page
Pregnancy Week-by-Week

Copyright © 2009 Hannah. All rights reserved.
Site Design by StorkNet

Please read our disclaimer and privacy policy.
Your feedback is always welcome.

Amreta's Graphic Corner