StorkNet.com Home Page A StorkNet Family Network Site
Jennifer's Parenting Journal


Introduction
~ Meet Jennifer

family!Hello! My name is Jennifer and I am 31. I have been married to my husband, Adam, for 10 1/2 years, and we have 7 lively children! We have three girls and four boys: Maacah was born in 2001, Grace was born in 2003, Isaac was born in 2004, Malachi was born in 2006, Nathaniel was born in 2008, Damaris was born in 2009, and Caleb who was born this last August, 2011. My husband and I started our own catering business in April 2010 and we have the contract for the "meals on wheels" elderly feeding program for our county,(which is a yearly contract) so that is steady income. The town we live in is surrounded by two different Native American tribes and we often cater business meetings and other functions with them.

I am a stay-at-home mom and I homeschool the eldest four. Being homeschooled, we don't necessarily follow the grade levels that the public school does, but they are approximately in 4th, 3rd, 2nd, and kindergarten ~ along with a preschooler, toddler, and infant. My days are anything but dull! While homeschooling has its difficulties (and days when it feels like you're beating your head against a wall!), I find it very worthwhile. As a parent, I want to be in control over what my children learn, when they learn it, and in what environment they learn it in. I graduated from public school and while I had a good education, I am glad that my husband and I have other options for our children. We live in Wisconsin and this state has very liberal guidelines and regulations about homeschooling, for which I'm grateful. Because it is liberal, there are many organizations that support homeschooling that we can be a part of and those are really good resources as well.

My husband and I are also involved with the Midwest Indian Mission (www.midwestindianmission.org), of which his father has been a director of since the early 1980's. Adam currently pastors one of the three churches on the three reservations; Sunnyside Community Church. Adam's older brother is director of the shelter (http://www.newhopeshelter.net/), which is located on the mission grounds, while his wife is on the board, and his younger brother and his wife minister to the youth. His mother is treasurer and me . . . well, I fill in wherever I can (if you read my pregnancy journal then you already know how crazy my summer was being the cook for all the camps we had!!). I suppose you can say "it's a family affair"!

My hobbies include sewing, quilting, embroidering, and reading. I love to be with my family, which is good since we're together almost 24/7! I have a blog, if you are interested: www.dewings.us/blog/ and I try to post there as regularly as I can. Even though I've been parenting for awhile, I still have much to learn and I'm so glad that you are coming along with me on this fabulous journey that God is leading me down!

'Till next time,
~ Jennifer

Entry One | Return to Jennifer's Home Page
Visit StorkNet's Parenting Channel

Copyright © 2011 Jennifer D. All rights reserved.
Site Design by StorkNet

Please read our disclaimer and privacy policy.
Your feedback is always welcome.

Amreta's Graphic Corner